Why I Chose Vegetarianism

Hello my loves.

I bet you all thought I disappeared again, huh? Probably rejoicing too? Well, I’m still here and kickin’. I didn’t post a WIAW this week because my computer crashed. Like flat out deleted everything I had. The 1157 songs on my iTunes and all. It’s a good thing my dad works on computers and got my little baby up and running in no time.

I promised you guys a post on why I chose to go vegetarian and what is in my diet now so here it is.

1. Following a vegetarian diet lowers your risk for type 2 diabetes. Growing up in a family that has diabetes on both sides, I’m very aware of the fact that I’m a likely candidate. The only person who doesn’t have it out of both sides is my mom. I’m very aware of the fact that the odds are against me in this battle but I would like to increase my chances of not getting diabetes.

My best friend: Greek Yogurt!

2. It’s good for my heart. By following a vegetarian diet I almost automatically lower the amount of saturated fat and cholesterol that I consume. Along with diabetes, heart disease also runs in my family. So basically I’m knocking out two birds with one stone.

Lentil veggie soup.

3.I have more energy! I absolutely love the way that I feel right now. I’m constantly moving around and it feels amazing. Before I developed my ED my diet was based off of grains (not very good ones either) and beef. I could eat 10 oz steak for dinner along with two sides of fries and I would be good. Then I’d go in a food coma. While that may be okay every now and then, I would do that a couple nights a week. Needless to say, I didn’t always feel the best.

Photobucket

Tofu and extra-veggie stir fry.

4.Most importantly, I love animals. For as long as I can remember, I have loved animals and have always wanted to follow a vegetarian diet purely for the fact that I felt extremely guilty eating them. Since I’m still seeing a dietitian I thought this would be the perfect time to change my diet because she would be able to monitor/change it as needed.



Katie’s nutella pretty much goes on everything!

As you can see, my eats haven’t changed that much and I can honestly say that I don’t miss meat one bit at this moment.

Have a wonderful weekend loves <3

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why I Chose Vegetarianism

  1. Aja says:

    I’ve been a vegetarian for the majority of my life. It’s really great as I’m sure you are well aware. Have a great weekend!

  2. I have diabetes in my family, too. (My mom, grandma, and uncle all have it, and that’s just on my mom’s side.) I know that every since I started eating a more plant based diet I’ve had so much more energy, so I know what you mean. :)

Leave a Reply

